Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

Dawe named CJHL Rookie of the Year

Canadian Junior Hockey League

Media Update

Release date: Wednesday, May, 10, 2017

Photo credit: Notre Dame Hounds/SJHL

Notre Dame’s Dawe named CJHL’s Top Rookie for 2016-17
17-year-old Gander, Nfld., product picks up national honour over fellow Top Rookie finalists Cam Donaldson: Powell River Kings (BCHL); Merrick Rippon: Ottawa (CCHL); Dylan Riley, Pictou County (MHL) & Mel Melconian: Aurora (OJHL)

CALGARY, Alta. – The Canadian Junior Hockey League announced Wednesday that Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League forward Adam Dawe of the Notre Dame Hounds has been named its Top Rookie Award recipient for the 2016-17 season.

Dawe, a 17-year-old native of Gander, Nfld., garnered the accolades for the honour, which goes annually to its top first-year Jr. ‘A’ player within the 132-team CJHL, through voting compiled by each of its 10-member Jr. ‘A’ leagues across the country.

Despite still being a midget-aged player, the Notre Dame standout was earlier named SJHL Rookie of the Year, in a campaign where the league boasted a very strong class of first-year players.

Dawe led the SJHL rookie point race wire-to-wire as the Hounds’ forward registered a league-best 64 points among first-year skaters as he scored 19 times and doled out 45 assists.

His offensive numbers also helped him finish tied for ninth overall in SJHL scoring.

Earlier this season, Dawe was also named to the Team West roster and participated in the CJHL Prospects Game held this past January in Cornwall, Ont.

He is expected to attend the University of Maine on scholarship in the fall of 2018 and play for the Black Bears.

The CJHL would also like to recognize the four other finalists for its Top Rookie Award.

BCHL: Cam Donaldson – Powell River Kings
CCHL: Merrick Rippon – Ottawa Jr. A Senators
MHL: Dylan Ryley – Pictou County Weeks Crushers
OJHL: Mel Melconian – Aurora Tigers

CJHL Top Rookie Award Recipients
2016-17 Adam Dawe Notre Dame Hounds SJHL
2015-16 Cale Makar   Brooks Bandits AJHL
2014-15 Cameron Morrison Aurora Tigers OJHL
2013-14 Jake Walman Toronto Jr. Canadiens OJHL (Co-recipient)
2013-14 Chris Gerrie Olds Grizzlys AJHL (Co-recipient)
2012-13 Tristan Keck Winkler Flyers MJHL